Academy Awards® for 1989

Driving Miss Daisy.

Daniel Day-Lewis for My Left Foot.

Jessica Tandy for Driving Miss Daisy.

Supporting Actor:
Denzel Washington for Glory.

Supporting Actress:
Brenda Fricker for My Left Foot.

Oliver Stone for Born on the Fourth of July.

Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen:
Tom Schulman for Dead Poets Society.

Writing, Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium:
Alfred Uhry for Driving Miss Daisy.

Freddie Francis for Glory.

Art Direction-Set Decoration:
Anton Furst, Peter Young for Batman.

Costume Design:
Phyllis Dalton for Henry V.

Donald O. Mitchell, Gregg C. Rudloff, Eliot Tyson, Russell Williams II for Glory.

Film Editing:
David Brenner, Joe Hutshing for Born on the Fourth of July.

Sound Effects Editing:
Ben Burtt, Richard Hymns for Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.

Visual Effects:
Dennis Muren, John Bruno, Dennis Skotak for The Abyss.

Music, Song:
"Under the Sea" (The Little Mermaid), Music: Alan Menken; Lyrics: Howard Ashman.

Music, Original Score:
Alan Menken for The Little Mermaid.

Manlio Rocchetti, Lynn Barber, Kevin Haney for Driving Miss Daisy Short Films, Animated Films:
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein for

Short Films, Live Action:
James Hendrie for Work Experience.

Documentary, Short Subjects:
Charles Guggenheim for The Johnstown Flood.

Documentary, Features:
Robert Epstein, Bill Couturie for Common Threads: Stories from the Quilt.

Foreign Language Film:
Cinema Paradiso from Italy.

Honorary and Other Awards:
Akira Kurosawa for cinematic accomplishments that have inspired, delighted, enriched and entertained worldwide audiences and influenced filmmakers throughout the world.

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award: None.

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Howard W. Koch

Gordon E. Sawyer Award: Pierre Angenieux

Academy Award of Merit (statuette): None.

Scientific and Engineering Award (plaque):
J. Noxon Leavitt, for the invention of, and ISTEC, Incorporated, for the continuing development of the WESCAM Stabilized Camera System.

James Ketcham of JSK Engineering for excellence in the engineering and adaptability of the SDA521B advance/retard system for magnetic film sound dubbing.

Geoffrey H. Williamson of Wilcam Photo Research Incorporated for the design and development, and Robert D. Auguste for the electronic design and development of the Wilcam W-7 200 frames per second VistaVision Rotating Mirror Reflex camera.

Klaus Resch for the design and FGV Panther Corporation for the development of the Super Panther MS-180 camera dolly.

J.L. Fisher of J.L. Fisher Incorporated for the design and manufacture of the Fisher Model 10 Dolly.

Technical Achievement Award (Academy certificate):
Dr. Leo Catozzo for the design and development of the CIR-Catozzo self-perforating adhesive tape film splicer.

Magna-Tech Electronic Company for introduction of the first remotely controlled advance/retard function for magnetic film sound dubbing.

Special commendation: SMPTE, for continuing contributions of its members toward making film a primary form of international communication.

news american idol

Home   |   Help   |   Account Info   |   Privacy Policy   |   Site Map

Bookmark and Share
Powered by MacroMusic ™
Copyright © 2023 The '80s Server, a division of MacroMusic, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
music movies