Academy Awards® for 1985

Out of Africa

William Hurt for Kiss of the Spider Woman.

Geraldine Page for The Trip to Bountiful.

Supporting Actor:
Don Ameche for Cocoon.

Supporting Actress:
Anjelica Huston for Prizzi's Honor.

Sydney Pollack for Out of Africa.

Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen:
William Kelley, Pamela Wallace, Earl Wallace for Witness.

Writing, Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium:
Kurt Luedtke for Out of Africa.

David Watkin for Out of Africa.

Art Direction-Set Decoration:
Stephen Grimes; Josie MacAvin for Out of Africa.

Costume Design:
Emi Wada for Ran.

Chris Jenkins, Gary Alexander, Larry Stensvold, Peter Handford for Out of Africa.

Film Editing:
Thom Noble for Witness.

Visual Effects:
Ken Ralston, Ralph McQuarrie, Scott Farrar, David Berry for Cocoon.

Sound Effects Editing: Charles L. Campbell, Robert Rutledge for Back to the Future. Music, Song:
"Say You, Say Me" (White Nights), Music: Lionel Richie.

Music, Original Score:
John Barry for Out of Africa.

Michael Westmore, Zoltan Elek for Mask.

Short Films, Animated Films:
Cilia Van Dijk for Anna & Bella.

Short Films, Live Action:
Jeff Brown for Molly's Pilgrim.

Documentary, Short Subjects:
David Goodman for Witness to War: Dr. Charlie Clements

Documentary, Features:
Maria Florio, Victoria Mudd for Broken Rainbow.

Foreign Language Film:
The Official Story from Argentina.

Honorary and Other Awards:
Paul Newman in recognition of his many and memorable and compelling screen performances and for his personal integrity and dedication to his craft.

Alex North in recognition of his brilliant artistry in the creation of memorable music for a host of distinguished motion pictures.

John H. Whitney Sr. for Cinematic Pioneering (Medal of Commendation).

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award: None.

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Charles 'Buddy' Rogers

Gordon E. Sawyer Award: None.

Academy Award of Merit (statuette): None.

Scientific and Engineering Award (plaque):

Imax Systems Corporation for a method of filming and exhibiting high-fidelity, large-format wide-angle motion pictures.

Ernst Nettman of E.F. Nettman & Associates for the invention, and to Edward Phillips and Carlos DeMattos of Matthews Studio Equipment, Inc. for the development of the CamRemote for motion picture photography.

Myron Gordin, Joe P. Crookham, Jim Drost and David Crookham of Musco Mobile Lighting, Ltd., for the invention of a method of transporting adjustable, high-intensity Luminaires and their application to the motion picture industry.

Technical Achievement Award (Academy certificate):

David W. Spencer for the development of an Animation Photo Transfer (APT) process.

Harrison & Harrison, Optical Engineers, for the invention and development of Harrison Diffusion Filters for motion picture photography.

Larry Barton of Cinematography Electronics, Inc., for a Precision Speed, Crystal-controlled Device for motion picture photography.

Alan Landaker of the Burbank Studios for the Mark III Camera Drive for motion picture photography.

news american idol

Home   |   Help   |   Account Info   |   Privacy Policy   |   Site Map

Bookmark and Share
Powered by MacroMusic ™
Copyright © 2023 The '80s Server, a division of MacroMusic, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
music movies