Academy Awards® for 1982


Ben Kingsley for Gandhi.

Meryl Streep for Sophie's Choice.

Supporting Actor:
Louis Gossett Jr. for An Officer and a Gentleman.

Supporting Actress:
Jessica Lange for Tootsie.

Richard Attenborough for Gandhi.

Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen:
John Briley for Gandhi.

Writing, Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium:
Costa-Gavras, Donald L. Stewart for Missing.

Billy Williams, Ronnie Taylor for Gandhi.

Art Direction-Set Decoration:
Stuart Craig, Robert W. Laing; Michael Seirton for Gandhi.

Costume Design:
John Mollo, Bhanu Athaiya for Gandhi.

Robert Knudson, Robert J. Glass, Don Digirolamo, Gene S. Cantamesa for E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial.

Film Editing:
John Bloom for Gandhi.

Visual Effects:
Carlo Rambaldi, Dennis Muren, Kenneth F. Smith for E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial.

Sound Effects Editing:
Charles L. Campbell, Ben Burtt for E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial.

Music, Song:
"Up Where We Belong" (An Officer and a Gentleman), Music: Jack Nitzsche, Buffy Sainte-Marie; Lyrics: Will Jennings.

Music, Original Score:
John Williams for E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial.

Music, Original Song Score and Its Adaptation or Best Adaptation Score:
Henry Mancini, Leslie Bricusse for Victor/Victoria.

Sarah Monzani, Michele Burke for Quest for Fire.

Short Films, Animated Films:
Zbigniew Rybczynski for Tango.

Short Films, Live Action:
Christine Oestreicher for A Shocking Accident.

Documentary, Short Subjects:
Edward Le Lorrain, Terri Nash for If You Love This Planet.

Documentary, Features:
John Zaritsky for Just Another Missing Kid.

Foreign Language Film:
Volver a Empezar from Spain.

Honorary and Other Awards:
Mickey Rooney, in recognition of his 50 years of versatility in a variety of memorable film performances.

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award: None.

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Walter Mirisch

Gordon E. Sawyer Award: John O. Aalberg

Academy Award of Merit (statuette):
August Arnold and Erich Kaestner of Arnold and Richter, GmbH, for the concept and engineering of the first operational 35mm, hand-held, spinning mirror reflex, motion picture camera.

Scientific and Engineering Award (plaque):
Colin F. Mossman and the Research and Development Group of Rank Film Laboratories, London, for the engineering and implementation of a 4,000 meter printing system for motion picture laboratories.

Sante Zelli and Salvatore Zelli of Elemack Italia S.R.L., Rome, Italy, for the continuing engineering design and development that has resulted in the Elemack Camera Dolly Systems for motion picture production.

Leonard Chapman for the engineering design, development and manufacture of the PeeWee Camera Dolly for motion picture production.

Dr. Mohammad S. Nozari of Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Company for the research and development of the 3M Photogard protective coating for motion picture film.

Brianne Murphy and Donald Schisler of Mitchell Insert Systems, Incorporated, for the concept, design and manufacture of the MISI Camera Insert Car and Process Trailer.

Jacobus L. Dimmers for the engineering and manufacture of the Teccon Enterprises' magnetic transducer for motion picture sound recording and playback.

Technical Achievement Award (Academy certificate):
Richard W. Deats for the design and manufacture of the "Little Big Crane" for motion picture production.

Constant Tresfon and Adriaan De Rooy of Egripment, and to Ed Phillips and Carlos De Mattos of Matthews Studio Equipment, Incorporated, for the design and manufacture of the "Tulip Crane" for motion picture production.

Bran Ferren of Associates and Ferren for the design and development of a computerized lighting effect system for motion picture photography.

Christie Electric Corporation and LaVezzi Machine Works, Incorporated, for the design and manufacture of the Ultramittent film transport for Christie motion picture projectors.

news american idol

Home   |   Help   |   Account Info   |   Privacy Policy   |   Site Map

Bookmark and Share
Powered by MacroMusic ™
Copyright © 2023 The '80s Server, a division of MacroMusic, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
music movies