Academy Awards® for 1986


Paul Newman for The Color of Money.

Marlee Matlin for Children of a Lesser God.

Supporting Actor:
Michael Caine for Hannah and Her Sisters.

Supporting Actress:
Dianne Wiest for Hannah and Her Sisters.

Oliver Stone for Platoon.

Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen:
Woody Allen for Hannah and Her Sisters.

Writing, Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium:
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala for A Room with a View.

Chris Menges for The Mission.

Art Direction-Set Decoration:
Gianni Quaranta, Brian Ackland-Snow, Brian Savegar, Elio Altramura for A Room with a View.

Costume Design:
Jenny Bevan, John Bright for A Room with a View.

John K. Wilkinson, Richard Rogers, Bud Grenzbach, Simon Kaye for Platoon.

Film Editing:
Claire Simpson for Platoon.

Visual Effects:
Robert Skotak, Stan Winston, John Richardson, Suzanne Benson for Aliens.

Sound Effects Editing: Don Sharpe for Aliens.

Music, Song:
"Take My Breath Away" (Top Gun), Music: Giorgio Moroder; Lyrics: Tom Whitlock.

Music, Original Score:
Herbie Hancock for 'Round Midnight.

Chris Walas, Stephan Dupuis for The Fly.

Short Films, Animated Films:
Linda Van Tulden, Willem Thijssen for A Greek Tragedy.

Short Films, Live Action:
Chuck Workman for Precious Images.

Documentary, Short Subjects:
Vivienne Verdon-Roe for Women - For America, for the World.

Documentary, Features:
Brigitte Berman for Artie Shaw: Time Is All You've Got.

Foreign Language Film:
The Assault from Netherlands.

Honorary and Other Awards:

Ralph Bellamy for his unique artistry and his distinguished service to the profession of acting.

E.M. 'Al' Lewis, in appreciation for outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (Medal of Commendation).

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award: Steven Spielberg.

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: None.

Gordon E. Sawyer Award: None.

Academy Award of Merit (statuette): None.

Scientific and Engineering Award (plaque):

Bran Ferren, Charles Harrison and Kenneth Wisner of Associates and Ferren for the concept and design of an advanced optical printer.

Richard Benjamin Grant and Ron Grant of Auricle Control Systems for their invention of the Film Composer's Time Processor.

Anthony D. Bruno and John L. Baptista of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Laboratories, Incorporated, and to Manfred G. Michelson and Bruce W. Keller of Technical Film Systems, Incorporated, for the design and engineering of a Continuous-Feed Printer.

Robert Greenberg, Joel Hynek and Eugene Mamut of R/Greenberg Associates, Incorporated, and to Dr. Alfred Thumin, Elan Lipshitz and Darryl A. Armour of the Oxberry Division of Richmark Camera Service, Incorporated, for the design and development of the RGA/Oxberry Compu-Quad Special Effects Optical Printer.

Professor Fritz Sennheiser of Sennheiser Electronics Corporation for the invention of an interference tube directional microphone.

Richard Edlund, Gene Whiteman, David Grafton, Mark West, Jerry Jeffress and Bob Wilcox of Boss Film Corporation for the design and development of a Zoom Aerial (ZAP) 65mm Optical Printer.

William L. Fredrick and Hal Needham for the design and development of the Shotmaker Elite camera car and crane.

Technical Achievement Award (Academy certificate):

Lee Electric (Lighting) Limited for the design and development of an electronic, flicker-free, discharge lamp control system.

Peter D. Parks of Oxford Scientific Films' Image Quest Division for the development of a live aero-compositor for special effects photography.

Matt Sweeney and Lucinda Strub for the development of an automatic capsule gun for simulating bullet hits for motion picture special effects.

Carl E. Holmes of Carl E. Holmes Company and to Alexander Bryce of The Burbank Studios for the development of a mobile DC power supply unit for motion picture production photography.

Bran Ferren of Associates and Ferren for the development of a laser synchro-cue system for applications in the motion picture industry.

John L. Baptista of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Laboratories, Inc. for the development and installation of a computerized silver recovery operation.

David W. Sam+(1986)uelson for the development and programs incorporated into a pocket computer for motion picture cinematographers, and to William B. Pollard for contributing new algorithms on which the programs are based.

Hal Landaker and Alan Landaker of The Burbank Studios for the development of the Beat System low-frequency cue track for motion picture production sound recording.

news american idol

Home   |   Help   |   Account Info   |   Privacy Policy   |   Site Map

Bookmark and Share
Powered by MacroMusic ™
Copyright © 2023 The '80s Server, a division of MacroMusic, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
music movies